In the footsteps of Jane Austen

Enthusiastic about Jane Austens novels and their film adaptions, we decided to go on seeking traces. So we visited Bath, Lyme Regis, Chawton, Winchester and Lacock; you can find an overview of travel informations, sights, infos about the Jane Austen Festival in Bath, etc.

Every information of transport, opening times, prices, etc are from our trips in September 2009, September 2010, June 2012 and August 2013. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee that they are still the same!

Public Transport

In the beginning of our journey we decided to travel by public transport. On one side you are spared from possible stress with rental cars and left-hand-driving, on the other side you can enjoy the landscape better by coach or by train – and you have time to read good books (Jane Austen, of course!!!).

From Heathrow Airport to the train station London Paddington there are two trains: the „Heathrow Express“ is faster than the „Heathrow Connect“, but on the other side also more expensive! Connections, prices und more informations:

Heathrow Express

Heathrow Connect

 

From train station London Paddington to Bath Spa or Chippenham (nearest train station to Lacock) there are direct trains; from London Paddington to Winchester or Axminster (nearest train station to Lyme Regis) you have to change trains. The tickets are cheaper when you buy them before you start your journey! The tickets need to be collected at a ticket automat at the train station (you need the credit card, which was used to pay the tickets). Connections, prices und more informations:

National Rail

First Great Western

 

And if you want to spare the way to London Paddington, you can also travel by coach from Heathrow Airport (e.g. to Bath Spa, to Winchester). The tickets for the coach are also cheaper when you buy them before you start your journey! You print your tickets at home. Connections, prices und more informations:

National Express

 

Local buses (e.g. from Axminster to Lyme Regis, from Winchester to Alton, from Chippenham to Lacock) you have to pay at the driver. And don´t forget: You have to wave to the bus driver, if you want to take the bus :-)

 


By train from London Paddington to Bath Spa

When traveling by train you have time to read good books :-)

Railway station Bath Spa

Without words ;-)

By car in England

For visiting secluded manor houses, gardens and small towns a car is an advantage. At our trip in 2013 we have made very good experiences with the car rental SIXT. The pickup/return and the transfer from/to the airport was easy and "our" small car met our demands.

Sixt.co.uk

 

If you are traveling for the first time by car in England, it will take all your concentration for conversion to the left-hand traffic. That is why we changed our navigation device to German. This is definitely helpful for the beginning - especially if you are driving towards the first 2, 3 or 4-lane roundabout! :-)

Our advice: stay cool, don´t hurry and wave friendly (for example if it happens that you notice on the first lane that you must on the sooo rightmost lane!! ;-)

 

Accomodation

While planning our first trip we received a lot of offers from hotels, youth hostels and Bed & Breakfasts. After a very hearty answer we decided to stay at a B&B. Cosy and familiar atmosphere and - of course – every morning British Breakfast :-)

They were soon settled in comfortable
lodgings in Pulteney Street.

Northanger Abbey
Jane Austen

 

Eat & Drink

The British cuisine has a bad reputation: greasy preparation of food, strange spices, very meaty meals. Shortly: you can hardly get good food in Great Britain... While our previous travels we did not notice anything of these things :

  • British Breakfast! We would love to eat it more times a day :-)
  • Afternoon Tea! Best teas, fresh baked Scones with Clotted Cream, Sandwiches with delicious fillings, Victoria Sponge Cake, etc! We love it!!!
  • Chips! Seldom from the refrigerator, but handmade from „real“ potatoes. You can see it at the different wide and size :-)
  • Pub culture! From students to business men – you can find nearly everyone in a pub. Even two Austrian Janeites with Spencer and Bonnet are welcome! And most of the time you eat very good there!!!

CONCLUSION: WE LOVE THE BRITISH CUISINE :-)

 


"The Pump Room", Bath

Sally Lunn´s Bath

British Breakfast

"Cassandras Cup", Chawton

Travel clothes

We travelled in the clothes of this past time, and we made only good experiences. At Austrian and German airports you cause often asking looks, but on British soil we encountered great kindness. However, you have to reckon that others stare at you, ask questions or take pictures of you (we recommend to steer clear of large travel groups!). So, travelling with Spencer and Bonnet is nothing for shy minds ;-)

When travelling by plane in historical costumes, you may think of more time for the security checks. Once we had the charming pleasure, to show a security official what´s hidden under the fabric masses. Since then we know, that a wooden busk possibly could be a weapon. ;-)

Even if umbrellas in the handluggage are accepted, sun-umbrellas are not always welcome. From Graz to London were our lovely sun-umbrellas no problem. But on the way back we had to give them off; they were joined with a tape and thrown (!) into a container for special luggage. We don´t like to explain our horrified faces; nor have we expected to hold them in one piece in our hands again. Who wants to spare himself or his umbrellas this adventure, should pack them into the suitcase. And if you ask yourself what happend to our sun-umbrellas – they survived their „flight“ into the container and everything that came after this - to our greatest surprise :-)

 


Airport Graz-Thalerhof

Winchester

Railway station London Paddington

Airport Graz-Thalerhof

In the end...

we can only hope that you enjoy our travel reports and maybe you can use them at your travel in the footsteps of Jane Austen.

We wish all Janeites a lovely journey with a lot of unforgettable moments. And we are looking forward to each postcard :-)

 

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

In the footsteps of
Jane Austen

Our journeys

 

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

 

Biography

What are men to rocks and mountains? Oh! What hours of transport we shall spend! And when we do return, it shall not be like other travellers, without being able to give one accurate idea of any thing. We will know where we have gone; we will recollect what we have seen. Let our first effusions be less insupportable than those of the generality of travellers.

Pride and Prejudice
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at

Auf den Spuren von Jane Austen

Begeistert von Jane Austens Romanen und den Verfilmungen ihrer Werke haben wir uns auf die Spurensuche begeben und dabei Bath, Lyme Regis, Chawton, Winchester und Lacock besucht. Zu diesen Reisezielen findet Ihr Sehenswürdigkeiten, Anreisemöglichkeiten, Infos über das Jane Austen Festival in Bath, usw.!

Sämtliche Erfahrungsberichte und Angaben zu Verkehrsmitteln, Öffnungszeiten, Preisen, usw. stammen von unseren Reisen im September 2009, September 2010, Juni 2012 und August 2013. Wir können leider nicht dafür garantieren, dass diese Angaben auch weiterhin ihre Richtigkeit haben!

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel

Zu Beginn unserer Reise haben wir uns für die Nutzung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln entschieden. Einerseits entgeht man dadurch dem möglichen Streß mit Mietauto und Linksverkehr, andererseits kann man vom Zug oder Bus aus die Landschaft genießen und hat auch noch Zeit für schöne Literatur (natürlich Jane Austen!!!).

Vom Flughafen London Heathrow zum Bahnhof London Paddington gibt es zwei Bahnverbindungen: Der "Heathrow Express" ist schneller als der "Heathrow Connect", allerdings ist dieser auch teurer! Mögliche Verbindungen, Preise und weitere Informationen:

Heathrow Express

Heathrow Connect

 

Von London Paddington nach Bath Spa gibt es Direktzüge; von London Paddington nach Winchester oder Axminster (näheste Bahnhof nach Lyme Regis) muss man umsteigen. Tickets für den Zug sind günstiger, wenn man sie bereits vor Reiseantritt kauft! Die Tickets können am Bahnhof beim Automaten ausgedruckt bzw. abgeholt werden (nötig ist die Kreditkarte, mit der die Tickets gekauft wurden). Mögliche Verbindungen, Preise und weitere Informationen:

National Rail

First Great Western

 

Wenn man sich den Umweg über London Paddington sparen möchte, kann man ab Heathrow Airport auch mit dem Reisebus fahren (z.B. nach Bath Spa, nach Winchester). Auch die Tickets für den Bus sind günstiger, wenn man sie bereits vor Reiseantritt kauft! Die Tickets können einfach zu hause ausgedruckt werden. Mögliche Verbindungen, Preise und weitere Informationen:

National Express

 

Regionale Buslinien (z.B. von Axminster nach Lyme Regis, von Winchester nach Alton, von Chippenham nach Lacock) sind direkt beim Busfahrer zu bezahlen. Und nicht vergessen: Man muss dem Busfahrer zuwinken, wenn man mitfahren möchte :-)

 


Im Zug von London Paddington nach Bath Spa

Im Zug hat man auch Zeit
für schöne Bücher :-)

Bahnhof Bath Spa

Ohne Worte ;-)

Autofahren in England

Für die Besichtigung von abgelegenen Herrenhäusern, Gärten und Ortschaften ist ein Auto von Vorteil. Wir haben gute Erfahrungen mit dem Autoverleih SIXT gemacht. Das Ausborgen/Zurückbringen sowie der Transfer vom/zum Flughafen war sehr unkompliziert und "unser" kleines Auto erfüllte alle Ansprüche.

Sixt.co.uk

 

Wenn man zum ersten Mal in England mit dem Auto unterwegs ist, braucht man für die Umstellung auf Linksverkehr seine ganze Konzentration. Darum haben wir auch unser Navigationsgerät auf Deutsch umgestellt. Dies ist anfangs auf jeden Fall hilfreich - vor allem wenn man auf den ersten 2, 3 oder 4-spurigen Kreisverkehr zufährt!!! :-)

Unser Tipp: cool bleiben, nicht hetzen lassen und freundlich winken (wenn man zb. doch noch im letzten Moment draufkommt, dass man doch auf die gaaaanz rechteste Spur muss!! ;-)

 

Unterkunft

Bei der Planung unserer ersten Reise haben wir viele verschiedene Angebote von Hotels, Jugendherbergen und Bed&Breakfasts eingeholt. Nach einer besonders herzlichen Antwort kommt für uns nur noch Bed&Breakfast in Frage. Heimeliges Ambiente, familiäre Atmosphäre und - natürlich - täglich frisch zubereitetes British Breakfast :-)

 

Man lebte sich in der behaglichen Wohnung in der Pulteney Street ein.

Northanger Abbey
Jane Austen

 

Essen & Trinken

Die britische Küche genießt bei uns ja eher einen schlechten Ruf: fettige Zubereitungsarten, eigenwillige Gewürzkombinationen, fleischlastige Menüpläne. Kurz: In Großbritannien lässt es sich angeblich nicht gut speisen. Bei unseren bisherigen Reisen konnten wir davon nichts bemerken:

  • British Breakfast! Wir hätten nichts dagegen, es mehrmals täglich zu essen :-)
  • Afternoon Tea! Beste Teesorten, frisch gebackene Scones mit Clotted Cream, Sandwiches mit leckeren Füllungen, Victoria Sponge Cake, und und und! Zum Dahinschmelzen!!!
  • Chips! Selten aus der Tiefkühltruhe sondern selbstgemacht aus "echten" Kartoffeln. Erkennbar an der ungleichmäßigen Breite und Größe :-)
  • Pubkultur! Vom Studenten bis zum Geschäftsmann ist einfach jeder im Pub zu finden. Sogar zwei österreichische Janeites in Spencer und Schute sind dort willkommen! Abgesehen davon, kann man in britischen Pubs meistens wirklich lecker speisen!!!

FAZIT: WIR LIEBEN DIE BRITISCHE KÜCHE :-)

 


"The Pump Room", Bath

Sally Lunn´s Bath

British Breakfast

"Cassandras Cup", Chawton

Reisegarderobe

Unsere Reisegarderobe haben wir an die damalige Zeit angepasst und haben damit wirklich gute Erfahrungen gemacht. Löst Kleidung aus der Regency-Zeit auf österreichischen und deutschen Flughäfen oftmals noch unwissende Blicke aus, stößt man auf britischem Boden auf große Freundlichkeit. Allerdings muss man immer wieder damit rechnen, dass sich andere nach einem umdrehen, einen anstarren, Fragen stellen oder auch Fotos machen (ein großer Bogen um große Reisegruppen ist empfehlenswert!). Die Reise in Spencer und Schute ist also eher nichts für schüchterne Gemüter ;-)

Wenn man in historischer Mode mit dem Flugzeug reist, sollte man eventuell mehr Zeit für die Sicherheitskontrollen einplanen. Einmal hatten wir schon das bezaubernde Vergnügen, einer Sicherheitsbeamtin in der Garderobe zeigen zu dürfen, was sich unter den Stoffmassen versteckt. Seitdem wissen wir auch, dass ein Blankscheit im Mieder eventuell eine Hiebwaffe sein könnte ;-)

Obwohl Schirme im Handgepäck erlaubt sind, sind Sonnenschirme nicht immer erwünscht. Von Graz nach London waren unsere hübschen Schirme kein Problem, aber retour wurden sie uns bei der Sicherheitskontrolle abgenommen, mit einem Klebeband umwickelt und in einen Container für Sondergepäck geworfen (!). Unsere entsetzten Blicke müssen wir hier wohl nicht näher beschreiben; wir haben auch nicht damit gerechnet sie je wieder heil in Händen zu halten. Wer sich oder seinen Schirmen dieses Abenteuer ersparen möchte, bringt seinen Schirm besser im Koffer unter. Falls Ihr Euch jetzt fragt, was aus unseren Schirmchen geworden ist - sie haben den "Flug" in den Container und alles was danach kam zu unserer größten Überraschung unbeschadet überstanden :-)

 


Flughafen Graz-Thalerhof

Winchester

Bahnhof London Paddington

Flughafen Graz-Thalerhof

Zu guter Letzt...

bleibt nur noch zu hoffen, dass Euch unsere Reiseberichte gefallen und Ihr sie vielleicht sogar bei Euren Reisen auf den Spuren von Jane Austen nutzen könnt.

Wir wünschen allen Janeites eine schöne Reise mit vielen unvergesslichen Momenten. Und wir freuen uns über jede Postkarte :-)

 

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

Auf den Spuren von
Jane Austen

Unsere Reisen

 

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

 

Biographie

Was bedeuten Männer neben Wäldern und Bergen? Ach, was für eine herrliche Reise das werden wird! Und wenn wir zurückkehren, dann nicht so wie alle anderen, die niemals wissen, wo sie gewesen sind und wie es dort ausgesehen hat. Wir werden uns immer an alles erinnern, was wir gesehen und was wir erlebt haben! Ach, was werden wir alles von unterwegs zu erzählen haben!

Stolz und Vorurteil
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at