In the footsteps of Jane Austen in Lacock

Granted, Jane Austen was maybe never in Lacock (she did not mention the village in one of her letters or novels). All the same, Lacock is a nice destination for Janeites; the village is a beloved film location for film versions of her work.

That in Lacock „modern things" like utility pole, traffic lights, etc. are absent, is to owe the National Trust. They manage the whole village since 1944 and ensure, that Lacocks look becomes not modern or young ;-)

Lacock Abbey

www.NationalTrust.org.uk/Lacock/

Only the cloisters in Lacock Abbey reminded on the old abbey which was inhabited by nuns. In the 16th Century the Abbey was translated into a „residential house“.

Apart from the beautiful living spaces, you can visit the „Fox Talbot Museum“. William Herny Fox Talbo takes in 1835 in Lacock Abbey the first photographic negative in existence. It shows the latticed window in Lacock Abbey, and can be seen in the museum.

You can see the cloisters in the movie adaptation Pride and Prejudice (1995) as Cambridge University. Also the kitchen is to be seen in this adaptation - as we have been told. Unfortunately, we could not see the kitchen while our visit, because of filming in progress. It seems, that this happens often in Lacock ;-)

 


Lacock Abbey

Lacock Abbey

Cloisters

Eva in the footsteps of Mr. Darcy in Cambridge University ;-)

Tithe Barn

East Street / High Street

In this former tithe barn, dating from the 14th century, were taxes in form of kind (e.g. cereals) stored.

 


Tithe Barn

Tithe Barn

Village lock-up

East Street

In this little village lock-up, built in the 18th century, were perturbations and drunk people locked for a short time.

 


Village lock-up

High Street

In the Pride and Prejudice film adaptation from 1995 is this street known as the village „Meryton“. And if you - as we - have seen this adaptation many times, you feel really familiar with this street :-)

 


High Street

High Street

High Street

Lizzie and her sisters meet here Lt. Denny and Mr. Wickham

The Red Lion

1 High Street
www.RedLionLacock.co.uk

Colin Firth aka Mr. Darcy gets out of the carriage, throws a sceptical look upwards und goes to the ball at the Assembly Rooms of Meryton. In the film adaptation of Pride and Prejudice (1995) you can see the outside view of „The Red Lion“ in this part. Maybe you can no longer dance there with Mr. Darcy - but it can be eaten in the pub, and/or you can stay over :-)

 


Eva is dancing at the ball ...

... at the Assembly Rooms in Meryton ;-)

Church Street

The Church Street in the film adaptation Emma (1996) is known as the village „Highbury“. Even though you can see many beautiful houses in Lacock, the house facade of the Bates seems to be built in front of real houses.

 


Church Street

Church Street

Church Street

The Bates´ house should be, where you can see the blue car ;-)

And otherwise...

Not only Jane Austens novels were filmed in Lacock:

  • Cranford (2007), Judi Dench: It seems that the whole village was used as film location for the BBC-series. The pub „The Red Lion“ changed into the shop „Johnson´s Universal Stores“, Miss Matty Jenkyns house can be found in Church Street and even the High Street is shown.
     
  • Harry Potter (2002, 2009): Lacock Abbey Sacristy and Warming room (Classrooms Hogwarts), Lacock Abbey Cloisters (Harry freed the house elf Dobby), Church Street (Home of Harry Potter´s parents), Church Street / West Street (Harry Potter walks along the street with Professor Dumbledore)
     
  • The Other Boleyn Girl (2008): Lacock Abbey

 


Church Street
Miss Matty Jenkyns House (Cranford)

Church Street
Home of Harry Potter´s parents

Church Street / West Street
Harry Potter walks along this street with Professor Dumbledore.

Lacock Abbey Cloisters
Harry Potter freed the house elf Dobby.

Travelling to Lacock:

  • by train from Bath Spa to Chippenham
  • then by bus (234) from Chippenham bus station to Lacock

More Links:

National Trust

The George Inn, Lacock

Old Rectory B&B, Lacock

Map:

Show larger Map

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

In the footsteps of
Jane Austen

Our journeys

 

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

 

Biography

What are men to rocks and mountains? Oh! What hours of transport we shall spend! And when we do return, it shall not be like other travellers, without being able to give one accurate idea of any thing. We will know where we have gone; we will recollect what we have seen. Let our first effusions be less insupportable than those of the generality of travellers.

Pride and Prejudice
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at

Auf den Spuren von Jane Austen in Lacock

Zugegeben, Jane Austen war selbst wohl nie in Lacock (jedenfalls wird die Stadt in keinem ihrer Briefe oder Romane erwähnt). Trotzdem ist Lacock ein schönes Reiseziel für Janeites; immerhin dient die Stadt als Drehort für Verfilmungen ihrer Werke. Dass in Lacock "modernes Zeug" wie Strommasten, Ampeln, usw. fehlen, ist dem National Trust zu verdanken. Sie verwalten den gesamten Ort seit 1944 und sorgen dafür, dass der Ort nicht moderner bzw. jünger wird ;-)

Lacock Abbey

www.NationalTrust.org.uk/Lacock/

Nur der Kreuzgang in der Lacock Abbey erinnert noch an das ehemalige Nonnenkloster. Im 16. Jahrhundert wurde das Kloster in ein "Wohnhaus" umgebaut.

Abgesehen von den schönen Wohnräumen kann man sich auch das "Fox Talbot Museum" ansehen. William Henry Fox Talbot hat 1835 in der Lacock Abbey die erste erhaltene Fotografie aufgenommen. Sie zeigt das Erkerfenster der Lacock Abbey und kann im Museum betrachtet werden.

Den Kreuzgang der Lacock Abbey sieht man in der Verfilmung Pride & Prejudice (1995) als Cambridge University. Auch die Küche kann man angeblich in der Verfilmung Pride & Prejudice (1995) sehen. Bei unserem Besuch durften wir leider nicht in die Küche, da dort gerade Dreharbeiten stattfanden. In Lacock dürfte das öfter der Fall sein ;-)

 


Lacock Abbey

Lacock Abbey

Kreuzgang

Eva auf den Spuren von Mr. Darcy in der Cambridge Universität ;-)

Tithe Barn

East Street / High Street

In der ehemalige Zehntscheune aus dem 14. Jahrhundert wurden Steuern in Form von Naturalien (wie z.B. Getreide) gelagert.

 


Zehntscheune

Zehntscheune

Village lock-up

East Street

In dem kleinen Dorfgefängnis aus dem 18. Jahrhundert wurden Ruhestörende oder Betrunkene kurzfristig eingesperrt.

 


Dorfgefängnis

High Street

In der Verfilmung Pride & Prejudice (1995) sieht man diese Straße als den Ort "Meryton". Und wenn man - so wie wir - die Verfilmung schon öfters gesehen hat, kommt einem die Straße wirklich sehr vertraut vor :-)

 


High Street

High Street

High Street

Lizzie und ihre Schwestern treffen hier Lt. Denny und Mr. Wickham

The Red Lion

1 High Street
www.RedLionLacock.co.uk

Colin Firth alias Mr. Darcy steigt aus seiner Kutsche, wirft einen skeptischen Blick nach oben und geht zum Ball in die Assembly Rooms von Meryton. In der Verfilmung von Pride & Prejudice (1995) dient dafür die Aussenansicht von "The Red Lion". Vielleicht kann man im Red Lion nicht mehr mit Mr. Darcy tanzen - aber dafür kann man im Pub essen und / oder übernachten :-)

 


Eva tanzt zum Ball ...

... in den Assembly Rooms in Meryton ;-)

Church Street

Die Church Street sieht man in der Verfilmung Emma (1996) als den Ort "Highbury". Obwohl es in Lacock viele schöne Häuser gibt, wurde für das Haus der Bates scheinbar ein Haus vor die bestehenden Häuser "gebastelt".

 


Church Street

Church Street

Church Street

Dort wo das blaue Auto parkt, sollte eigentlich
das Haus der Bates zu finden sein ;-)

Und sonst...

Nicht nur Jane Austens Romane wurden in Lacock verfilmt:

  • Cranford (2007), Judi Dench: Für die BBC-Serie wurde scheinbar der ganze Ort als Drehort genutzt. Das Pub "Red Lion" wurde zum Geschäft "Johnson's Universal Stores" umgebaut, in der Church Street findet man Miss Matty Jenkyns House und auch die High Street ist immer wieder zu sehen.
     
  • Harry Potter (2002, 2009): Lacock Abbey Sakristei und Wärmeraum (Klassenzimmer Hogwarts), Lacock Abbey Kreuzgang (Harry befreit den Hauself Dobby), Church Street (Elternhaus von Harry Potter), Church Street / West Street (Harry Potter geht mit Professor Dumbledore die Straße entlang)
     
  • Die Schwester der Königin (2008): Lacock Abbey

 


Church Street
Miss Matty Jenkyns House (Cranford)

Church Street
Elternhaus Harry Potter

Church Street / West Street
Harry Potter geht mit Professor Dumbledore diese Straße entlang.

Lacock Abbey Cloisters
Harry Potter befreit den Hauself Dobby.

Anreise nach Lacock:

  • mit dem Zug von Bath Spa nach Chippenham
  • weiter mit dem Bus (234) von Chippenham Bus Station nach Lacock

Weitere Links:

National Trust

The George Inn, Lacock

Old Rectory B&B, Lacock

Karte:

Größere Karte anzeigen

In the footsteps of Jane Austen

Auf den Spuren von
Jane Austen

Unsere Reisen

 

Bath

Lyme Regis

Chawton

Winchester

Lacock (Filmlocation)

 

Biographie

Was bedeuten Männer neben Wäldern und Bergen? Ach, was für eine herrliche Reise das werden wird! Und wenn wir zurückkehren, dann nicht so wie alle anderen, die niemals wissen, wo sie gewesen sind und wie es dort ausgesehen hat. Wir werden uns immer an alles erinnern, was wir gesehen und was wir erlebt haben! Ach, was werden wir alles von unterwegs zu erzählen haben!

Stolz und Vorurteil
Jane Austen
 

Kleidertruhe.at